Monday, December 6, 2010

YAY HOLIDAYS!


As it is finally December and the holiday season really beginning, I thought I'd pick 5 books to give as holiday gifts this year. Because you all obviously want to know my choices.

1. Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan - This book is set during Christmas time, so it is obviously super festive and Christmas appropriate! It is also funny and smart and half is written by David Levithan, so it's obviously amazing. It's so good that I'm excited to analyze it for English class. (I get to analyze it! How awesome is that? SO AWESOME.)

2. The Iron King by Julie Kagawa - recommended for fans of fantasy, paranormal, other faerie books, and, as much as it pains me to say, Twilight. (But it's in a whole other league than Twilight. SOSOSOSOSOSO much better.) An action packed story with all sorts of delightful creatures. Plus, it has romance (TEAM PUCK FOREVER AND ALWAYS, ASH SUCKS, ETC.) And the sequel, The Iron Daughter, is even better.

3. Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert - recommended for fans of those totally intense, depressing books. Fans of authors like Ellen Hopkins, Julia Hoban, etc. This book is so emotional and sad and intense and omg. So many emotions ran through me when I first read this book. Definitely not for the faint of heart, but man oh man it's one heck of a book, in the best way possible.

4. Mostly Good Girls by Leila Sales - recommended for the older Georgia Nicolson fan, people who like FUNNY, and people who want to know my life story. This book was so hilarious and I really wish Violet was in my class because I will need her humor to get me through Hell Week (week before finals AHH). One of the most realistic books I have read in a long time.

5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins - recommended for fans of Maureen Johnson, Sarah Dessen, and breathing. One of my absolute favorites of the year and of all time. It's technically a romantic comedy, but I hate using that term because it has such a negative connotation. That's what it is, though. It's hilarious and funny and sweet and adorable and yet so much deeper than your average "romantic comedy." I laughed, I cried, I swooned over St. Clair. READ THIS BOOK.

1 comment:

  1. Snap...the only one of these books I've read is The Iron King. However, I own Dash and Lily's Book of Dares and Anna and the French Kiss and plan to get to those soon.

    ReplyDelete